pure passion

We’ve just come off of yet another Hallmark greeting card and the mushy love-fest known as “Valentine’s Day.” Honestly, I am completely content NOT getting gifts or showers of love and affection from my hubs on this glorious and sickening occasion. In fact, I practically exonerate him from bestowing on me candy that will only increase my waistline, grant him clemency from sending delivery people to my workplace or home with flowers that, although they are beautiful, will die before I get the opportunity to fully embrace their fragrance and bloom. In other words . . .

I let my dude off the hook.

Oh, it’s not that I don’t enjoy those gifts, or even just a simple card or love note.

But let’s get real, shall we?

If you get those flowers, etc delivered or sent to you on the SAME day as EVERYONE else is–is it really THAT special then? I mean, I would rather my man do something for me on a day where it is NOT “expected” or anticipated. EVERYONE gets gifts on Valentine’s Day, right? (Or if they don’t, they send their significant other to the couch, or worse, the infamous dog house.)

We’ve lost something here over time, people. We’ve lost a key element to sustaining a beautiful lifelong romance. We’ve decided to settle on what everyone else has when all we really desire is to be unique and chosen to be set apart by the one we love.

We have lost passion.

Not the hot-blooded, can’t-wait-to-get-you-home and . . . well, you get it.  Not that kind of passion. But we’ve lost the passion for bettering those around us. Passion is not confined to a physical can’t-keep-your-hands-off-each-other element. Where is passion demonstrated for us first? Dare I say, from God Himself?

Hear me out on this one. love3.jpg

pas·sion (noun)
1.strong and barely controllable emotion.
     “a man of impetuous passion”
2. the suffering and death of Jesus
     “meditations on the Passion of Christ”

Jesus, Son of the living God first told us about this passion we are to have for Him and for others . . . and then, get this–HE SHOWED US PASSION by giving His very life on a cruel cross to save us from our own sins!

In Matthew 22:37-40, we read, “Jesus said, ‘Love the Lord your God with all your passion and prayer and intelligence.’ This is the most important, the first on any list. But there is a second to set alongside it: ‘Love others as well as you love yourself.’ These two commands are pegs; everything in God’s Law and the Prophets hangs from them.”

So this “passion” we celebrate for the one we love? Not quite the same as Christ teaches us about.  However, what if chose to run after Christ first, our full passion, adoration, desire all leading to Him? Would our passion look differently in our relationships, our friendships, our work, our world? Would we find ways to serve others first, with no expectation or return on that humble act? Would we EXPECT flowers, candy, cards, dinner out from our significant other on ONE DAY of the year or would we demonstrate the passion we have with every ounce of our being, with no demand or anticipation of reciprocity TO and FOR the ones we love?

I choose to follow passionately the One who first fell in love with me for ME, before I was even brought in this world. I choose to run after and pursue Jesus Christ.

I love the group Jesus Culture and I especially adore Kim Walker-Smith (seriously, I have to refrain from being entirely envious of that raspy voice of hers). Kim sings a song that I have always been in love with and I’ll leave you with this:  my desire is to have passion for Christ above all things and allow Him to pursue me as I draw closer to Him each day for strength and wisdom and freedom. My testimony from the song goes as follows:

Jesus, I glorify; Jesus, my love is Yours

You are my heart’s desire; I live to know You more

John 3:16 “This is how much God loved the world: He gave his Son, his one and only Son. And this is why: so that no one need be destroyed; by believing in him, anyone can have a whole and lasting life.”

THIS is true passion.

*Author’s note:  My name is Phoenix. I’m just a simple gal living a simple life for God. I’m a wife, mom, teacher, and writer/blogger. I want to let you know how humbled I am that you found my blog and chose to read the words God has given me this day. If you find this, or any other of these writings helpful or encouraging to you or someone you know, please feel free to share with your community/social media/e-mail, etc. I am willing to be used by God and welcome your extension of grace and encouragement.

Blessings to you all. I will rise . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “pure passion

Leave a Reply

