Not Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood

But it’s MY neighborhood.

That’s right. Today, I’d like to address my community.

It’s not just ANY community.

It’s the community I am a part of because of something tragic in my life.

But the community is my source of support in the face of that tragedy.

If you’ve followed my writing for any amount of time, you know that I am an adult survivor of childhood sexual abuse. I believe that abuse happened around the age of nine for me and I was abused on multiple occasions by a family friend. Friend? Yeah, right. My community includes real friends. Friends are not abusers. So my community? Yeah, my community embodies so much more than I could have ever expected. I participate in a weekly twitter chat with other survivors and I’m in a safe support group of other survivors. I gain so much much blessing from these people–my community.

So what does my safe community offer to me?

  • Encouragement:  My community reads my thoughts, hears my voice, and sends messages of support. There is no judgment in my “neighborhood.”
  • Empathy: My community encompasses a sense of understanding because they have been where I have been or are where I am in that moment. They offer that special listening ear and help me realize and acknowledge I’m not alone in any of my feelings or thoughts.
  • Empowerment: My community shares their stories with me and often find themselves willing to listen to my concerns and then they offer me prayers, warm thoughts, encouraging words that make me feel stronger in the face of my fear and anxiety.

My neighborhood. My people. My safe community.

I am beyond blessed.

1003156_10201726984241357_35129205_n*Author’s note:  My name is Phoenix. I’m just a simple gal living a simple life for God. I’m a wife, mom, teacher, and writer/blogger. I want to let you know how humbled I am that you found my blog and chose to read the words God has given me this day. If you find this, or any other of these writings helpful or encouraging to you or someone you know, please feel free to share with your community/social media/e-mail, etc. I am willing to be used by God and welcome your extension of grace and encouragement.

Blessings to you all. I will rise . . .

Leave a comment