Discovering strength in shallow and intertwined roots

Trees seem to have taken over my writings these days.

I can’t help it. For some reason, I’m seeing so many analogies and stories that relate and connect between the beautiful trees in God’s perfect nature and to my own life that I just have to share what I’m learning. (Plus, I’m on vacation this week and am surrounded by not only the Great Smoky Mountains, but also the beautiful trees among the trails and peaks and valleys–whereas, my house is somewhat void of such magnitude and plentiful greenery.)

cades.jpgMy family had decided to travel up the mountain into an area called Cade’s Cove. From what I can gather, this area was a plantation or settlement of pioneer people who found peace at their homestead in this amazing valley in the Smoky Mountains. Many buildings from that time still stand and tourists drive into the cove just to enjoy this trip back in time and the hopes of seeing wildlife on their journey.

Once you reach the visitor’s center, you can get out of your car, take pictures, hike, have a picnic, etc and enjoy the sunshine from between the branches of the vast trees. You can hear the birds chirp in a fresh way and find yourself humming along in tune with the water flowing from the mill nearby.

Now, this week, we did drive that trip into Cade’s Cove, but our sons were too enthralled with technology (and we didn’t choose the fight the battle so we could enjoy nature). So my husband and I got out of the car on our own, just to walk the pathway up to a few buildings and then down by the creek to take some pictures, just the two of us.

And then I saw this particular tree.

The roots were hard to avoid as they protruded from the ground and the walk was unsteady to get to the edge of the path. I took a picture of the roots, and at that time, wasn’t really sure why, other than it was just aesthetically interesting from this amateur photographer’s perspective.  roots

As I’ve looked back on my pictures I’ve taken, some posted to my Instagram or Twitter accounts, I have been drawn back to this picture in particular. Why? Why did I feel the need to take THIS picture at THIS angle? Well, I was thinking I had heard something or read something about redwood trees, and although this is obviously not a redwood, the story and the facts of the redwood apply to this picture as well as my life right now.

I researched and found that for as tall as the redwood tree gets, the roots are not as deep as you might think. We assume the bigger the tree, the deeper the roots (ok, I assume that). But it’s not the case with redwood trees.

“The root systems of redwoods are very shallow. The roots grow no deeper than about ten feet and yet they support a tree that is the height of a football field. It seems impossible but in reality, the roots of the redwood tree graft and interlock with the systems of the trees surrounding it, creating a vast interlocking root platform. This prevents the toppling of even the tallest and most massive trees when soil layers become fully saturated and soggy during prolonged flooding” (http://bit.ly/1PWs3GE).

AND

“Redwoods reach their incredible height because they grow very close to each other. Redwoods are always surrounded by other redwoods! Because the 100 plus inches of annual rainfall leaves the soil with few nutrients, the trees rely on each other for their vital nutrients. Only redwoods have the strength to support other redwoods” (http://bit.ly/1PWs3GE).

How does this apply to MY life? To YOUR life?

  • We need each other’s support to survive.
  • We need each other’s support to thrive.
  • We need each other’s support to find strength. (sorry, I couldn’t think of a good rhyming word that meant “strength”–strive, maybe. LOL).

Bottom line: whatever you’re going through (for me, it’s personal journey of healing from childhood abuse and trauma), YOU ARE NOT ALONE. We need each other to lean on to survive the journey, to grow in our healing, and to find strength in our weakness.

  • You need me.
  • I need you.
  • We need each other.
  • We will rise.

*Author’s note:  My name is Phoenix. I’m just a simple gal living a simple life for God. I’m a wife, mom, teacher, and writer/blogger. I want to let you know how humbled I am that you found my blog and chose to read the words God has given me this day. If you find this, or any other of these writings helpful or encouraging to you or someone you know, please feel free to share with your community/social media/e-mail, etc. I am willing to be used by God and welcome your extension of grace and encouragement.

Blessings to you all. I will rise . . .

2 thoughts on “Discovering strength in shallow and intertwined roots

  1. Little L, thank you soooooo much for taking the time to read my work and for commenting with such encouragement and support. I’m glad we’ve crossed paths as well! Blessings!

    Like

Leave a comment